AI ToolAI Voice Agent

Upfirst

Upfirst is an AI receptionist that answers inbound calls 24/7, qualifies leads, books appointments, and routes calls to the right team member without human staff.

Upfirst is an AI receptionist, priced at $24.95 a month on the Starter plan. InnovaAI rates it 4.3 of 10 for agency resale.

Situational Fit4.3/10

Agency Audit

Upfirst routes inbound calls through an AI receptionist that qualifies leads, books appointments, and captures caller details without human staff. It's built for service verticals (real estate, law, property management, HVAC, plumbing) where missed calls directly cost revenue. Agencies can resell Upfirst as a white-label phone system retainer to clients in these sectors, charging $25-$300/month per client depending on call volume. The fit is strongest for agencies serving small service businesses that currently lose leads to voicemail or overflow, and weakest for agencies whose clients need HIPAA-compliant call handling or complex CRM integrations.

Situational FitNo WLTiered
Fit

4.3/10

Typical Margin

42%

Time-to-Value

2d 1 to 2 days

Complexity
Low
Situational Fit
Fit43
Visit Upfirst
Best For
  • Your clients are in real estate, law, property management, HVAC, plumbing, or pest control and currently miss inbound calls during off-hours or peak periods.
  • You want to offer a 24/7 answering service retainer without hiring a virtual receptionist team, since Upfirst handles call routing and lead qualification automatically.
  • Your clients need appointment scheduling directly into their calendar and call recordings for compliance or training purposes.
Not For
  • Your clients require HIPAA compliance or BAA coverage for healthcare calls; only the Custom enterprise plan mentions BAAs, and compliance details are not published.
  • You need full white-label branding with custom domain and client-facing portal; Upfirst does not advertise a white-label program in its public materials.
  • Your clients use Salesforce, HubSpot, or other major CRMs as their primary system and expect seamless two-way sync; the content lists integrations but does not specify native vs. Zapier-only depth.

Profit Path

Your Cost (USD)

$24.95/mo

Market Range

$600–$1.5K/project

Revenue Model

Monthly Recurring

From 242 published agency rates in the United States, 25th to 75th percentile times 20 h of assumed delivery time. Rates are self-reported directory profiles, not observed transactions.

Platform Features

Core capabilities of Upfirst

24/7 AI call answering

Upfirst answers inbound calls around the clock without human staff, capturing caller name, phone, and reason for contact. Agencies can offer this as a standalone service to clients who currently lose leads to voicemail or overflow during nights and weekends.

Lead qualification and routing

The system asks custom questions to qualify callers, then routes qualified leads to the right team member or department. This reduces time spent on unqualified calls and ensures hot leads reach sales or intake staff immediately.

Appointment scheduling

Callers can book appointments directly into the client's calendar (integration details not specified in public docs). Eliminates back-and-forth email or callback loops for service businesses.

Call recording and transcription

All calls are recorded and transcribed automatically, generating instant summaries. Agencies can use these summaries for client reporting or compliance audits without manual note-taking.

Spam blocking and call screening

Upfirst filters unwanted callers before they reach the client, reducing noise and protecting client time. Particularly valuable for law firms and real estate agents who receive high volumes of spam calls.

Custom knowledge base

Agencies can configure Upfirst to answer common business questions (hours, pricing, policies) using client-specific knowledge, reducing repetitive calls and improving caller experience.

What Makes Upfirst Different

Unique advantages vs similar tools in this niche

Cost-effective at $24.95/month vs human answering services costing hundreds

vs Traditional human answering services

Upfirst costs less than $25/month while traditional services cost $400+ per month.

Custom knowledge base that learns business specifics

vs Generic call center scripts

Upfirst can be trained with business-specific FAQs and details, unlike traditional services that don't learn your business.

Human-like AI voices for better caller experience

vs Robotic IVR systems

Uses advanced AI voices that are clear, friendly, and designed to make a great first impression.

Latest Updates

Recent releases and improvements for Upfirst

Import contacts via CSV

New

Upload your customer list so your receptionist recognizes callers and skips repeat questions. Before, you had to add contacts one by one or wait for them to build up from incoming calls. Now you can upload your full customer list at once via CSV.

Control how quickly your receptionist responds

New

Every caller is different. Some pause to think or read out long details like addresses and order numbers. Others want quick back-and-forth. Before, your receptionist used a single default pace for all calls. Now you can tune how patient your receptionist is before it responds. Go

Connect Upfirst to Make for post-call workflows

New

If you wanted to push call data to another app after each call, Zapier was the only option. Now you can use Make too. Connect Upfirst to Make and build scenarios that automatically send caller details, summaries, and transcripts to your CRM, spreadsheet, or whichever apps you use

Invite your team to Upfirst with multi-user login

New

Until now, only the account owner could log in to Upfirst. Now you can invite your whole team so they can review calls alongside you. Each person gets their own login. Owners have full access, including the ability to edit your receptionist's training. Members can view call logs,

Calendly scheduling integration

New

If you use Calendly to manage appointments, your Upfirst receptionist can now book directly into it. Callers hear available time slots and book over the phone, without you being involved. Set it up in **Integrations** (left sidebar), enable **Calendly**, and sign in. Then go to *

Investment ROI Calculator

Value equation analysis for Upfirst, based on the Hormozi framework

What is the Hormozi framework? A four-factor score: (what the service delivers × how reliably it delivers) divided by (how long it takes × how much effort it requires). A higher Value Multiplier means a better return on the time and money invested: faster, easier, and more proven results.

Value MultiplierExceptional

4.1× value multiple: invest $24.95/mo and agencies typically charge $600–$1.5K/project for the work it powers.

Outcome49
÷
Friction12

Why This Succeeds

Higher is better

Implementation Challenges

Lower is better

Strong ROI. Upfirst at $24.95/mo supports market rates of $600–$1.5K. Its 4.1× value-equation score weighs client outcome and likelihood against the time and effort to deliver, not cost.

Best if:Your clients are in real estate, law, property management, HVAC, plumbing, or pest control and currently miss inbound calls during off-hours or peak periods.You want to offer a 24/7 answering service retainer without hiring a virtual receptionist team, since Upfirst handles call routing and lead qualification automatically.Your clients need appointment scheduling directly into their calendar and call recordings for compliance or training purposes.You can absorb the per-call overage costs (Starter $1.50/call, Premium $1.00/call, Pro $0.75/call, Scale $0.70/call) if a client exceeds their monthly call limit.

Pricing

Upfirst platform cost to your agency

~42% margin

Starts at $24.95/mo (Starter), scales to $299/mo (Scale)

Starter

$24.95/mo
$20/mo annually
  • 30 calls included
  • 24/7 answering
  • Instant call summaries
  • Call recordings & transcription

Premium

$59.95/mo
$48/mo annually
  • 90 calls included
  • 24/7 answering
  • Instant call summaries
  • Call recordings & transcription

Pro

$159.95/mo
$128/mo annually
  • 300 calls included
  • 24/7 answering
  • Instant call summaries
  • Call recordings & transcription

Scale

$299/mo
$240/mo annually
  • 600 calls included
  • 24/7 answering
  • Instant call summaries
  • Call recordings & transcription
Enterprise

Custom

Custom
  • More than 600 calls
  • Volume discounts
  • Priority support
  • BAAs for compliance

Add-ons

Optional extras priced on top of any main plan

Add-on: additional call (Starter)
$1.50
Add-on: additional call (Premium)
$1

No verified white-label program for Upfirst: client-facing delivery runs under the platform's native branding.

Market Intelligence

How agencies monetize Upfirst: real offer economics and market positioning

Service Applications
Lead GenerationClient CommunicationsSupport & HelpdeskAutomation & Integrations
Best For
  • Small business owners
  • Service-based businesses
  • Real estate agencies
Not Ideal For
  • Enterprise call centers with high volume
  • Agencies needing white-label client portal

Project-Based

ai-tools

Agency charges per-project fee for implementation. Ongoing optimization as optional retainer.

Offer Economics: What You Charge vs. What It Costs

Margin includes platform cost + agency labor at $75/hr.

Upfirst Local Launchlocal smb

Solo practitioners, local service businesses (plumbers, salons, clinics) missing inbound calls

$1.4K
Tool: $24.95/mo (2 mo = $49.90)Labor: 12h setup × $75 = $900Margin: 30%Benchmark: $600–$1.5K/project
• Configure Upfirst AI receptionist with business-specific call scripts and FAQs• Set up appointment scheduling rules and calendar integration• Deploy call routing logic for after-hours and overflow scenarios• Document handoff guide and train client on call summary dashboard
Upfirst Growth Setupgrowth smb

Regional service brands or funded startups with multi-staff teams needing lead qualification and CRM handoff

$3.1K
Tool: $24.95/mo (2 mo = $49.90)Labor: 28h setup × $75 = $2.1KMargin: 32%Benchmark: $1.5K–$3.7K/project
• Build multi-scenario call flow covering lead qualification, booking, and escalation paths• Integrate Upfirst call data with client CRM or scheduling platform via webhook• Configure spam blocking rules and priority routing by caller type• Deliver testing report and staff training session on live call monitoring
Upfirst Multi-Location Rolloutmid market

Multi-location businesses (franchises, regional healthcare groups, property management firms) needing unified 24/7 call handling across locations

$8.5K
Tool: $24.95/mo (2 mo = $49.90)Labor: 70h setup × $75 = $5.3KMargin: 38%Benchmark: $3.6K–$8.8K/project
• Deploy separate Upfirst receptionist instances configured per location with location-specific scripts• Build centralized call routing and escalation logic across all locations• Integrate call transcripts and summaries into client's existing CRM or ops platform• Audit call performance post-launch and optimize scripts based on first 30-day data
Upfirst Enterprise Voice Systementerprise

Enterprise service organizations (insurance, healthcare networks, national franchises) requiring compliant, high-volume AI call handling with deep system integration

$22K
Tool: $24.95/mo (2 mo = $49.90)Labor: 160h setup × $75 = $12KMargin: 45%Benchmark: $7.8K–$19.2K/project
• Architect and deploy enterprise-scale Upfirst call handling across departments or business units• Build custom integrations connecting Upfirst to EHR, ERP, or ticketing systems via API• Configure compliance-aligned call flows including BAA-ready data handling documentation• Train internal IT and operations teams and deliver full system runbook for ongoing management

Scale Economics: Based on Starter Offer

Using Upfirst Local Launch at $1.4K/client. Platform: $24.95/mo. Labor: 4h/client × $75/hr.

5 clients
$6.8K
MRR
$5.2K net (77%)
10 clients
$13.5K
MRR
$10.5K net (78%)
20 clients
$27K
MRR
$21.0K net (78%)

Net = MRR - platform cost - labor (4h/client × $75/hr).

Weighted Avg Margin
42%
Across all offer tiers, incl. labor at $75/hr
Run your agency audit

Investment Decision Framework

Strategic vetting analysis for Upfirst

Vetting Verdict

Situational Fit

Fit depends on your client mix

Agency Fit(white-label + resell pathway)
43/100
0255075100
Resell Friction(WL + mode + complexity)
60/100
0255075100

Buy If

4
STRATEGIC DRIVER

You want to offer a 24/7 answering service retainer without hiring a virtual receptionist team, since Upfirst handles call routing and lead qualification automatically.

STRATEGIC DRIVER

You can absorb the per-call overage costs (Starter $1.50/call, Premium $1.00/call, Pro $0.75/call, Scale $0.70/call) if a client exceeds their monthly call limit.

OPERATIONAL FIT

Your clients are in real estate, law, property management, HVAC, plumbing, or pest control and currently miss inbound calls during off-hours or peak periods.

OPERATIONAL FIT

Your clients need appointment scheduling directly into their calendar and call recordings for compliance or training purposes.

Skip If

4
CAUTION

Your clients require HIPAA compliance or BAA coverage for healthcare calls; only the Custom enterprise plan mentions BAAs, and compliance details are not published.

CAUTION

You need full white-label branding with custom domain and client-facing portal; Upfirst does not advertise a white-label program in its public materials.

CAUTION

Your clients use Salesforce, HubSpot, or other major CRMs as their primary system and expect seamless two-way sync; the content lists integrations but does not specify native vs. Zapier-only depth.

CAUTION

You operate in a market where clients expect sub-5-minute setup per account; onboarding timelines are not published, and the Pro/Scale plans mention white-glove onboarding, implying standard plans may require more manual configuration.

Bottom Line

Upfirst routes inbound calls through an AI receptionist that qualifies leads, books appointments, and captures caller details without human staff. It's built for service verticals (real estate, law, property management, HVAC, plumbing) where missed calls directly cost revenue. Agencies can resell Upfirst as a white-label phone system retainer to clients in these sectors, charging $25-$300/month per client depending on call volume. The fit is strongest for agencies serving small service businesses that currently lose leads to voicemail or overflow, and weakest for agencies whose clients need HIPAA-compliant call handling or complex CRM integrations.

Reality Check

Trade-offs & Gotchas

Upfirst does not publish white-label branding options in its public documentation, so you cannot present a fully branded phone system to clients. Agencies must verify custom integration availability before promising clients specific CRM or calendar sync beyond the standard features listed.

Implementation Reality

Moderate effort: standard configuration with some customization needed

Effort: 3/10Time: 4/10

Academy for Upfirst

Work through it in order: the course for this service first, then the modules behind it.

Core concepts

The mental model you need to price and scope the work.

  1. Residual Labor LedgerConcept

    Residual Labor Ledger is a costing discipline: before pricing an AI voice agent retainer, count the human work that survives deployment. Every voice deployment leaves a tail of tasks (transcript review, escalation handling, consent logging, prompt repair after a bad call) and that tail, not the per-minute rate, decides whether the retainer holds margin. The framework asks agencies to log four numbers per client: calls handled without touch, escalations per 100 calls, minutes of human review per call, and cost per resolved call. Trillet's audit-trail design and identity verification reduce the review tail in regulated verticals, while Goodcall-style self-serve builds shift more repair work onto the agency. Forrester's 2027 predictions warn that AI budgets face P&L scrutiny rather than pilot credit, so a retainer priced on usage cost alone will look profitable in month one and thin by month six. Price after the ledger, not before.

  2. Escalation Fidelity ThresholdConcept

    Escalation fidelity is the share of calls an AI voice agent routes to the right human, with the right context, at the right moment. It is the number that decides whether an agency voice retainer survives renewal, because a booking agent that handles 80 percent of calls but dumps the remaining 20 percent into a queue without caller history creates more client complaints than a missed call ever did. Measure it before pricing: pull 50 real call recordings, tag every handoff, and count how often the agent recognized the trigger (billing dispute, clinical question, angry caller) and passed a usable summary. Trillet's identity verification and audit trail exist precisely because regulated clients treat a mis-routed handoff as a compliance event, while Goodcall-style inbound capture leans on CRM sync to make the transfer legible. Agencies that quote a flat monthly fee before running this test are pricing blind.

  3. Consent Surface MappingConcept

    Consent Surface Mapping treats every call recording, transcript, and outbound dial as a regulated artifact before it is a product feature. The framework asks agencies to chart three surfaces per client: what callers are told at the start of a call, what the voice system stores afterward, and which jurisdictions the calls touch. Each surface caps what the agent is allowed to do, so scope decisions follow disclosure rules rather than the reverse. This matters because voice deployments fail audits on recording consent and outbound dialing rules far more often than on latency or voice quality. A concrete case: Trillet verifies caller identity to compliance standards and keeps a full audit trail, which suits healthcare and legal retainers where an unlogged action is itself the liability. Agencies that map consent first can price a retainer against a defined scope; those that skip it discover the ceiling after the client's counsel reads the call flow.

13 modules selected for Upfirst

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers about pricing, setup, implementation

Upfirst is an AI receptionist that answers inbound calls 24/7, qualifies leads by asking custom questions, books appointments directly into the client's calendar, and routes calls to the right team member. It also records and transcribes all calls, screens spam, and sends call summaries via SMS or email. Agencies can resell this as a retainer service to small service businesses that need round-the-clock call coverage without hiring staff.

Upfirst lists 5 plans; the paid ones run from $24.95 a month (Starter) to $299 a month (Scale). The typical margin on reselling Upfirst is 42% of the fee, after the platform and labor at $75 an hour.

No verified white-label program is published in Upfirst's public documentation. Client-facing surfaces display the Upfirst brand. If white-label branding is required, contact Upfirst sales to confirm whether custom integrations or enterprise plans include branded options.

Upfirst publishes an integrations page but does not detail native vs. Zapier-only depth in the available content. The Pro and Scale plans mention custom integrations as a feature, suggesting deeper CRM or calendar sync may be available on higher tiers. Agencies should verify specific integration availability (HubSpot, Salesforce, Google Calendar, Outlook) with Upfirst sales before committing clients.

Setup timelines are not published for standard plans. The Pro and Scale plans include white-glove onboarding, implying that Starter and Premium plans may require more manual configuration. Agencies should expect 30-60 minutes per client account to configure call routing, custom questions, and calendar integration, plus time to train the client on using the system.

Upfirst is purpose-built for real estate agencies, law firms, property management companies, and service trades including HVAC, plumbing, pest control, contractors, and emergency restoration. It is also used by chiropractors, salons, veterinary practices, restaurants, and insurance agencies. Any business that receives high inbound call volume and loses leads to voicemail or overflow is a candidate.

The Custom enterprise plan mentions BAAs for compliance, but no other compliance certifications are published in the available content. Healthcare agencies should contact Upfirst to confirm HIPAA eligibility and BAA availability before signing clients in regulated verticals.

Yes. Agencies can set up separate Upfirst accounts for each client and resell the service as a monthly retainer. Pricing flexibility exists across five tiers, so you can match the plan to each client's call volume and margin requirements. However, each client account is billed separately, so you will need to manage multiple subscriptions and pass through costs to clients.